Originally Posted By: ratchet
In Torque 3D, you just use standard assets and libraries: no coding , all things are ready to use !

That's true, but I don't want an engine that does it all for me. I'm a programmer, I want to make my own content. That's why I want Torque for the source code.

I think if 3DGS released source code it would instantly change the way the engine is. Having source means you have no limits at all. You can make the engine your own.

Originally Posted By: JulzMighty
For one thing: it says a lot about that guy's expectations when he began raving about how it should kill other engines when he only had one fortress and the terrain.

That's why I posted the one that I did in my last post, he didn't just run one fortress, he ran multiple ones. He had over 1,002,000 polys in fortresses alone (which is only around 8-9 fortresses, but it's more polys than most engines can handle). You also forget that he has the desert scene with multiple buildings and trees, which is in the same map.

We're enjoying having a look and talk about features like soft-particles and all that, and then you come back and try to turn the thread back onto what you think A7 can't do.

True, for my first post, but it is relevant to T3D, which is why I posted.

EDIT: Btw, my attitude doesn't come across very nicely in this post, I know. In real life I enjoy a good argument, and I'll do it light-heartedly and with a smile, but that doesn't translate to text very well (if I put in smileys but don't change the wording it'll probably look patronising). Sorry for that, that's something I'm working on when I'm online.

Same here, I enjoy debating issues like this, and I like debating with people who have a good standpoint. I'm not at all frustrated with debating with you. laugh