by flink. 04/14/24 07:46
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
3 registered members (7th_zorro, Aku_Aku, 1 invisible), 579 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
EternallyCurious, howardR, 11honza11, ccorrea, sakolin
19047 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Using Git for Version Control #472756
05/21/18 04:30
05/21/18 04:30
Chicago, IL
Dooley Offline OP
User
Dooley  Offline OP
User

Chicago, IL
On the Indie Game Developers Facebook page, everyone seems to recommend using "Git" to manage different versions of a game. As a solo developer, I don't really see this as necessary, but I am open to other opinions and reasons why I should consider it.

Is anyone using git or some other similar type of repository? Are these things compatible with 3DGS projects?

Re: Using Git for Version Control [Re: Dooley] #472759
05/21/18 08:30
05/21/18 08:30
Bavaria, Germany
Kartoffel Offline
Expert
Kartoffel  Offline
Expert

Bavaria, Germany
at it's base, git is just something that keeps track of your project's files and remembers all changes / versions you uploaded. there is more complex functionality (branch and merge, etc.) but as it's mostly working with the files themselves I don't see why it should be incompatible with anything.

POTATO-MAN saves the day! - Random
Re: Using Git for Version Control [Re: Kartoffel] #472766
05/21/18 10:49
05/21/18 10:49
İstanbul, Turkey
Quad Offline
Senior Expert
Quad  Offline
Senior Expert

İstanbul, Turkey
IMO, Git or some other VCS is pretty much necessary for anything more complex than a fast weekend prototype. Also it's a must if you have more than 1 person touching the code.

I do not know how it would fare for binary files (Models,levels,textures etc) but for source code and other text git is the king. It does not matter which language/engine you use. For git a text file is a text file.