by jcl. 04/26/24 11:09
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
4 registered members (7th_zorro, degenerate_762, AndrewAMD, ozgur), 774 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR
19050 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
P2P & Games #413716
12/16/12 19:14
12/16/12 19:14
Carlos3DGS Offline OP
User
Carlos3DGS  Offline OP
User

So... I started playing around with multiplayer some years ago and recently I'm getting back into having some fun with it when I got a new idea I would like to test for fun.

As the title says "peer2peer" connections popped in my mind and I would like to test if this is even possible for realtime multiplayer gaming. I'm not planning on making a game, just a tool for others to use. I just want to experiment with the concept and (if it works) polish it into a usable tool.

If it works the idea is aimed as a free tool for indies in general that might want to take on something more ambitious than basic multiplayer, but cant afford massive server/bandwith costs.
Normally indie games cant afford anything past traditional de-centralized client/server multiplayer environments. And at most a centralized serverlist.

As the number of clients grows, so does the costs of a centralized server farm. Subscription fees are a great way to pay for these costs but clients wont usually be inclined to pay a subscription fee unless it is the next big AAA title on the market so that isnt really an option for indies.

The advantage of a P2P networking solution would be that as the client base grows, so does the network. The main idea is that all clients would at the same time form part of the server farm while they are connected. So as the player base grows so does the bandwidth and size of the server farm. And at no cost for the indie developers!