by 11honza11. 04/30/24 08:16
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
4 registered members (AndrewAMD, dr_panther, 2 invisible), 1,056 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR
19050 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
C++ or scripting for this game? #376756
07/06/11 14:18
07/06/11 14:18
South Africa
S
Snaphaan Offline OP
Snaphaan  Offline OP
S

South Africa
Hi!

I am a full-time Graphic Designer with no coding experience. I would just like to know how far the scripting in this engine will get me before I need to understand C++. I'm really motivated to get my head around the scripting aspects of the engine but the C++ is a bit intimidating (to say the least).

Just a few outlines of what I need to do:

- The game I have in mind has more a outdoor adventure feel to it than action or even real role playing. Your character has three basic stats that interact with its environment.

- I thought of making certain body parts vulnerable to certain afflictions or damage which can be fixed via special ingredients or objects.

- There is also a kind of garden that needs tending for food and nourishment. All kinds of weather effects need also be implemented randomly. I thought of using some 2D satellite map with some options for showing weather patterns and even positions of unknown moving objects. But hell, I'm getting ahead of myself here.

- Everything happens in FP due to the importance of immersion. It's not a free roaming survival game but more story driven and the puzzles and the survival of the player in this world is Dependant on certain tech and clues.

If anyone has any advice on how I should approach this I would love to hear from you. If C++ is the only option, well, then maybe I could simplify the game mechanics more.