deactivate not seeing entitys

Posted By: CocaCola

deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/22/17 17:32

Hello,
is it possible to deactivate entity behind huge entitys, automatically?
in the key_tab menue, in point "ent" I have listed entitys who are behind buildings.
If I have a way to recognize, I would deactivate they
Posted By: CocaCola

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/24/17 09:16

it was the cliping, I was loocking for.
have found it in the infinite_terrain.c
Code:
my.eflags |= CLIP0;


I forgot it.
Posted By: txesmi

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/24/17 09:24

Hi,
3dgs automatic entity culling is made by the structure of the BSP tree (3dgsPro only) of the level. It can be fine tuned by regions. You can use regions with lower 3dgs licenses but the function that allows you to customly hide/show the content of a region is 3dgsPro only too since it is BSP tree structure dependant.

You can draw regions with lower 3dgs versions in WED and build a list of entities contained by each region after level load so you can manage their visibility by some events, proximity or so.

Salud!

edited: oh yes! culling by lod stages could be a solution too. laugh
Posted By: CocaCola

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/24/17 13:28

My level is generated by code can i make a BSP tree for entitys created with script (ent_create)?

with my.eflags |= CLIP0; i have mor fps but if I'm locking at a wall and I do see only the wall, the tab menue call me there are 3000 visible entitys, how can I chose erea for turn on off the visible?
Posted By: txesmi

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/24/17 18:44

Originally Posted By: CocaCola
My level is generated by code can i make a BSP tree for entitys created with script (ent_create)?

No. the BSP tree is based on level blocks and regions but you can create regions by script. If you don't own a 3dgsPro license you can't show/hide entities by areas, just one by one.

Originally Posted By: CocaCola
with my.eflags |= CLIP0; i have mor fps but if I'm locking at a wall and I do see only the wall, the tab menue call me there are 3000 visible entitys, how can I chose erea for turn on off the visible?

That is not an easy task. You will need to cut your level somehow, link near entities to each chunk and back the visibility to each other so you can hide/show entities by chunks in a light and reliable way. That is how the BSP tree works actually. Otherway there is no info enough to know if something will be covered by other entity. Solid entities are not sorted by the distance to the camera in the rendering stage.
Posted By: CocaCola

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/24/17 22:00

Solid entities, I will try that, for buildings. I hope not forget it.

I'm owner of a Com Version...

there are some features only for the pro Version, I want test game studio in legacy mode in Visual Studio, and so I hope not to much functions are only in lite_c, but that later...

I make my level with code or own level Editor and save the entity valves in a script, maby I try later a Level import from blender in wed to use BSP.


...in the manual I saw the words Scene Management, Visibility Determination, Hidden Surface Removal , its realy not so easy and it was confusing for me that I not see the entitys but the the key_tab menue find many polygons.

Whats about you? Do you have some books about scene rendering ?
Posted By: txesmi

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/25/17 13:05

Originally Posted By: CocaCola
Whats about you? Do you have some books about scene rendering ?

Not really. I read thousands of online articles here and there. More than a decade of gamasutras and other sites feeds gives a bit of info about the theme. DirectX is directX at the end. All my rest is test&fail comprehension.

Originally Posted By: txesmi
Solid entities are not sorted by the distance to the camera in the rendering stage.

I meant that no engine sorts the full solid meshes because it is an expensive task and triangles and pixels are automatically clipped by the graphic card through the zbuffer. At the same time all of the engines clip the meshes that are out of the view fustrum. Additively they use some sort of backed data in order to determine meshes visibility before building their draw calls. I guess that 3dgs low licenses use an ABT system (Adaptative Binary Tree) in order to compute the entities inside the view fustrum instead of checking the whole entity list, but I can be wrong. As far as I know it is not clearly stated anywhere.
Posted By: Ezzett

Re: deactivate not seeing entitys - 08/25/17 17:10

I think there is no magic trick to do this. In the end it depends on clever level design like connecting two areas containing a lot of entities with a small corridor and manually freeing the already visited area from memory and manually loading the new area into memory while the player walks through the corridor. Big games do thing like this all the time.
© 2024 lite-C Forums