Problem with media_tune

Posted By: NeoJones

Problem with media_tune - 11/19/15 07:53

Hi,
I play a .wmv file with media_play, but if I use media_tune, than my movie dont playing. It shows me the first frame of the movie and stopped.
Has anyone an idea?

Regards, NJ
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/19/15 08:09

http://www.conitec.net/beta/amedia_tune.htm
Quote:
rate the new playing speed or sound frequency in percent, or 0 for no change. For instance, give 100 for normal speed, 50 for slow motion or half frequency, or 200 for double speed or double frequency.


Make sure rate is rate is at 100 not 0.

Otherwise I'll do some testing to if I can repeat and solve this issue.

Mal
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/19/15 08:25

Code:
function main()
{
  vec_set(screen_size,vector(800,400,0));
  vec_set(screen_color,vector(50,1,1)); // dark blue
  vec_set(sky_color,vector(50,1,1)); // dark blue
  video_window(NULL,NULL,0,"My New Game");


media_play("wildlife.wmv",NULL,25);
wait(-10);
media_tune(media_handle,100,150,0);
}



Works as expected. First I had expected it to be unable to change the video play speed - this tune feature is for audio only, is my assumption.
Second - Did adjust volume
Three - could not exceed the master volume - which when set at full was even louder

Mal

links -
http://www.conitec.net/beta/amaster_vol.htm
http://www.conitec.net/beta/amidi_vol.htm
Posted By: NeoJones

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/19/15 19:35

Thanks Malice, but thats my problem. I dont need media_tune for the volume or balance, I need it to set the speed (rate) of the movie...

I cant find a notice, that the rate is only for audio in the manual or I need a brille O.O, uhh sorry I need a second screen for google translator grin

"...rate the new playing speed OR sound frequency in percent..."

Regards, NJ
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/19/15 23:31

Quote:

I cant find a notice, that the rate is only for audio in the manual or I need

I'm sure it doesn't, but I've been doing this for 14 years with this engine. But I was wrong!
So if I recall, it doesn't change play speed of video, or it doesn't do it in full screen. Again Wrong!
I believe that functionality has never been a part of the engine, just like seeking within the video time_stamps. More Wrong!

But it's easy to test, use the top 4 video formats. Try to slow each one. If all fail, it is not a function of the engine to change play speeds of videos. If one format passes, it's is not possible with the other formats, it's a format/codec limit. -- And I did it for you!

It is a basic game engine with functions to play video, not a video player app or editor app. If I prove to be correct, then you should need a dll extension for the functionality you want or to do it directly with direct x 9 code. Shut up Mal

Quote:
"...rate the new playing speed OR sound frequency in percent..."
a media stream can be audio, video or still image, therefore not all features of the function apply to all media, you can not after all raise the volume of a still image or it's play speed/rate. Also your welcome to 'ask the developers' and 'blame the manual'
Even more WRONG!

If I get bored I'll run some test and even look for a dll that will give you this feature. If I get bored or time.
- And so I did, I except cash, gifts and sexual favors for my work .... lol jk
Mal
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/20/15 05:58

@Neo

I was able to use a tool - freemake(tool dl trigger AV like crazy!) - to convert wmv to avi - xvid_codec, and it did work. Rate changed the play speed. So I'm wrong! The media_tune can't adjust wmv, and mp4-h.264 will not play at all.

So you'll have to hunt for a format/container and codec that works best files_size/play quality.

An update to fix this is highly unlikely, however you could ask.

Mal
Posted By: NeoJones

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/20/15 11:30

Yes, an update to fix for the wmv or a solution for mp4-h.264 would be really nice! Ok, with avi it works, but I think its a very bad format, to big file size. I test one file: wmv-> 22mb, avi->237mb grin

Iam not a friend of avi files. What do you mean with "ask"?

Best regards, NJ
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/20/15 19:01

Quote:
I test one file: wmv-> 22mb, avi->237mb
make sure you are compressing the avi this a codec like xvid... You should be able to get a better conversion size. My test was a wmv 2.13 mb to avi(xvid) 2.27 mb. Sounds like you made a uncompressed avi...!!!

Quote:
I am not a friend of avi files. What do you mean with "ask"?

The 'Ask the Developers ' thread on this forum allows you to directly talk to jcl about the engine, and because this could be called a bug , the "Bug Report" thread could be used to ASK for and update. LOL good luck!

Mal
Posted By: NeoJones

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/21/15 00:56

Oh okay. Yes, thats better than my codec. I used cinepak codec.
>> Ask the Developers - Thanks Mal, good to know laugh


Regards, NJ
Posted By: EpsiloN

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/24/15 10:28

As I recently found out, .avi is just a container, like .txt, but the content it contains can be in many forms...So, use a suitable codec (encode the video) and it'll be smaller.

It is possible to find snippets on the web and use them almost directly in a dll to encode or decode video files and play them (ffmpeg is a library...) (I suppose the play speed is up to you in this implementation...), but you'll need to somehow get the decoded picture in the engine, maybe in a bitmap and use it on a panel?

I hope this helps a little...
Posted By: NeoJones

Re: Problem with media_tune - 11/24/15 20:54

Thanks EpsiloN
© 2024 lite-C Forums