fps problem

Posted By: GaniX

fps problem - 11/26/12 17:35

http://www.subirimagenes.com/imagen-sinttulo2-8146982.html

hello to those who read, I have the following problem: as you can see from the picture I have the game without any panel and a 13 fps.

when i use a panel the fps is 10
http://www.subirimagenes.com/imagen-sinttulo-8146999.html

What I can do to make the minimum number of fps is always 13?

i use fps_min=13 in the main function. like this:

main(){
min_fps=13;
max_fps=60;
level load(...)
}

and the problem is continue
and the links is only is a picutre of this
Posted By: TerraSame

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 18:12

Those links really suck....
Each time I click on them a video file launches of an advertisement...
How rude....
Please find another way to share pics....

Now, about the fps problem....
You have a definite problem...
I do not see hardly anything in your level...
You should get a very high frame rate...

So, you need to figure out what is dragging down the fps...
First, you should look at each entity individually that is in the level...

That avatar....
What is it? File type?
What file type texture and how big?
Is it animated? If so, how? Vertice or bones?

You might try removing each component and switch it out with a different file which can help you diagnose the issues...

Next, could it be a code/script problem?
If so, seek more advice...
But first, check out each component of the level... Then go from there...

You might even try doing a "Save-As" of a different project and add your entity files to see what happens...

Best of luck...
Posted By: Uhrwerk

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 18:14

fps_min is only a theoretical border. I doesn't mean your fps never gets any lower than 13 fps. It only influences the time_* variables.

Your case is pretty strange though. 70ms for rendering 1k of geometry triangles is far to slow. What system are you using?

EDIT: The hints of terrasame are not very good. The bottleneck is clearly geometry rendering, not entity rendering.
Posted By: TerraSame

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 18:25

Hahahahahha
Bottom line is... Clearly there is a problem.....
Consider everything...
Uhrwerk...Thanks for the laugh...
Posted By: Ch40zzC0d3r

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 19:21

Try to coment out some functions and see where the lag is comming from.
If you need help send me a pm, I could add you in skype or come look over teamviewer laugh
Posted By: Uhrwerk

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 19:38

Once again. The problem is geometry rendering. Commenting out script functions won't do anything because script execution took only 0.6 ms per frame. Please note the debug panel in the upper left corner.

If your car signalizes it's running out of petrol you're not starting with cleaning the ignition plugs or "considering everything", right?
Posted By: TerraSame

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 20:08

Hahahahaha
Sweet....
The project is way to small not to consider everything...
Might as well, for as the project grows, their will probably be new issues...
Therefore, Of course, one should optimize constantly...
I'm sure you, might agree... Or, maybe not...
If my car signaled it was low on fuel, I suppose I might start by checking the oil level.... Hahahahahah
I'd love to work with you on a project someday.... laugh

Edit... The stats panel is not readable for me as my resolution is set way to high...
Posted By: lemming

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 22:16

You have to click on the images to enlarge them. But Propably better links:
http://s2.subirimagenes.com/imagen/8146999sin-ttulo.png
http://s2.subirimagenes.com/imagen/8146982sin-ttulo2.png

edit:// They are now broken to me, too. Obviously my cache fooled me.

I agree on Uhrwerk. I guess there will hardly be anything to check on the code.

@GaniX: What graphics card do you use?
Posted By: Kartoffel

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 22:18

@lemming both links are broken (404) smirk
Posted By: lemming

Re: fps problem - 11/26/12 22:26

Weird. They work for me. But I was just direct-linking the pictures from the links above. Maybe some kind of link protection.
Posted By: TerraSame

Re: fps problem - 11/27/12 00:01

Yup....
Kartoffel is correct...
"Broken 404"
But... It sure is awesome to see so many trying to help GaniX...
And... It is really nice of Ch40zzC0d3r to offer personal assistance...
laugh
Posted By: GaniX

Re: fps problem - 11/30/12 22:41

ok ok thanks to all; i try and read codes. for the links i sorry , i try to use other web, and if my answer is late . im sorry too , but i have not internet, in only can cnoect some times
Posted By: GaniX

Re: fps problem - 11/30/12 22:42

tomorrow i connect and look what can i do, today no time
Posted By: Hummel

Re: fps problem - 12/01/12 02:33

As Uhrwerk stated your Problem is clearly the geometry rendering. On what machine are you running your Demo (CPU/GPU)?

@TerraSame: Your behavior is inappropriate!
Posted By: GaniX

Re: fps problem - 12/01/12 16:58

mmmmmmmmmm unfortunately a rather poor cpu would say, even works with charcoal and firewood ... 1g dual core ... 1 g of ram plate 512 integrated vide i think ... and win 7 starter

is any way to reduce the problem to run better?

the player has animated vertices, not bones, and the panel is tga.


a real appreciation to those who help me and respond and take the time to read and this written
Posted By: Uhrwerk

Re: fps problem - 12/02/12 04:30

The scene you're using is already pretty simple. I don't see how you can reduce the geomoetry complexity any further. You can of cause decrease the clipping distance to speed rendering up, but as soon as the scene gets more complex you'll get into the same trouble again. Ist this map compiled as simple or BSP map. That might also help if you own the pro edition and your map consists of lots of rooms. The scene you're showing is strange anyways. Even a low end system shouldn't be that slow for 1k triangles.
Posted By: Wjbender

Re: fps problem - 12/02/12 05:49

how is your performance on other games? whats running in the
background besides your project? did you install your correct
video display drivers ? is your directx instalation corrupt?

things i would check to make sure its not specific to your project, also please show the code for those functions in your
project
Posted By: GaniX

Re: fps problem - 12/02/12 19:37

ok then I'll upload the code, the system itself I have, in terms of direct x is q okay leave it installed as factory default. Maybe it's the operating system?
© 2024 lite-C Forums