Upgrading advices

Posted By: Shadow969

Upgrading advices - 07/09/08 11:01

Hey everyone, finally i've decided to upgrade my PC, but i'm a complete noob in hardware. So i wanted to ask few things:
-What processor can you advise, AMD\Intel? for gamedev and games of course smile
-How many cores should it have? 2 cores a quite popular now, but i've seen triple and quad core processors. As far as i know not many applications now are optimised for more than 2 cores.
-What about GPU? I've been thinking about ATI Radeon HD3850 512MB PCI-E

Thank you for attention smile
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Upgrading advices - 07/09/08 11:47

Just one hint: for gamedev you should choose a lowend pc
Posted By: oliver2s

Re: Upgrading advices - 07/09/08 12:05

Originally Posted By: mercuryus
Just one hint: for gamedev you should choose a lowend pc

No, only for game testing you should have a low end pc to optimize it for such systems. For game dev you should always use a high end system because of the workflow.
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Upgrading advices - 07/09/08 12:44

Quote:
For game dev you should always use a high end system because of the workflow.

No - not from my experiences.
If you develope a (casual) game on a highend machine you develope with specifications the lowend system can't support.
Many test cycles results in extra work on the performance.
Since we work with medspec laptops we save much time for performance optimization (thats our experiences).

Outside this Shadow969 will not buy a system for dev only but also for playing games so it's useless to discuss such a topic...

Re: Upgrading advices - 07/09/08 12:50

Well i already have a lowend machine and i'm tired of it smile i guess i will use it for optimisation later, but now many users want eyecandy screens, so shadermodel 3.0 is almost essential
Posted By: broozar

Re: Upgrading advices - 07/09/08 14:57