Hot Folder/Monitor Folder Question?

Posted By: RealSerious3D

Hot Folder/Monitor Folder Question? - 12/29/14 03:22

Hello all. I am curious if this is possible in C-Script:

Can a program be written to monitor a folder for new files and then apply an action to the new file?

For example, I want a small program to watch a particular folder and when a JPG is placed in the folder, the program would send it off to a printer to be printed.

There is more to this, but this is a start. Can it be done?

Easy on me, please, I am an artist and know very little about C-Script.
Posted By: WretchedSid

Re: Hot Folder/Monitor Folder Question? - 12/31/14 23:25

I'll be debby downer for a bit... C-Script, or Gamestudio in general, really, is the wrong tool for this job. You don't want an engine initialized just for what is essentially a daemon process that just watches a folder.

Now... Can you watch a folder? Most certainly yes! Either way it'll boil down to real C/C++, wether with gamestudio or in a more appropriate environment. The only difference is that gamestudio would need a DLL whereas you could just write a program in C/C++ that does this and you lose a lot of the overhead you would otherwise have. Here is the appropriate MSDN documentation for what you want to do.

Printing... Well, printing is a lot of pain. Printers are a lot of pain. You can get something very simple with ShellExecute, but ideally you'd have to dig down into the printer spooler API, which is going to be a lot of not so much fun hours.
Posted By: RealSerious3D

Re: Hot Folder/Monitor Folder Question? - 01/01/15 09:38

Yep, I absolutely know it's the wrong tool for the job. No doubt about it. It's a game engine, after all. Even so, I was curious for my own reasons. laugh

Ah, then if GameStudio needs a DLL to do this (i.e it could not be programmed in C-Script alone), then that answers my question. The answer is NO. laugh