Project Titanic

Posted By: Adamthedroog

Project Titanic - 08/28/11 04:58

Hello all,

I'm am interested in creating a video game set on the R.M.S. Titanic. I am a 3D modeler and have a good idea for a storyline. Any help would be appreciated.
Posted By: PadMalcom

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 09:58

Just a hint: Post some of your work to show that you are serious with your idea. Some models, a basic demo, ...

By this you'll find your team easier!

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 22:47

Ok then. I don't have a demo cause I'm brand new to game studio but here's a video of the model I'm working on:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcvkqIHg6S4
Posted By: Quad

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 22:49

If i could see the wire-frame versions of the renders i could be more certain but your models are not suitable for games.

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 22:54

Ok, how so? Sorry, I'm self taught and have never made a game before.

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 23:01

Here are some wireframe views.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/28/aniccdeck.png/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/163/aniccdeck1.png/
Posted By: Quad

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 23:17

Modelling for games are a lot different than modelling for rendering/movies. They are two different lines of profession.

Your walls look fine. But you see these curtains and the legs of the table? Too much polygons? As you begin to populate room with more props, these just won't do. Amounts of polygons you can use is limited. You need to reach to a quality with as less polygons as possible. You may need to add some details by texture and alot with bump maps.

Re: Project Titanic - 08/28/11 23:20

Right, right. I've heard that before. So just so long as I keep the polygons at a minimum everything should be fine?
Posted By: Joey

Re: Project Titanic - 08/29/11 02:39

yup.

Re: Project Titanic - 08/29/11 04:08

Alrighty then, thanks for the advice!

Now then, is anyone willing to give me a hand?