Looking for a game engine that...

Posted By: Paul_L_Ming

Looking for a game engine that... - 02/09/10 12:19

...has decent built-in networking for up to 8 players, and allows a sort of "server chat-forum" start up where players can gather to join up with each other and then, when they are ready, the leader hits the "start game" button and everyone starts.

Basically, I'm looking for something almost exactly like how it is set up for multiplayer in ye olde game "Dungeonsiege".

Of course, cheaper is better, but I'm not adverse to spending $$$$. Graphics, sound, etc. should be at least "average" for nowadays (shaders, normal maps, etc.).

Anyone?

Or, doe anyone have a third-party tool for A7 (or other game engine) that would allow this?

PS: I'm not a programmer; I know just enough to get myself into serious trouble, but not enough to get myself out. wink
Posted By: lostclimate

Re: Looking for a game engine that... - 02/09/10 14:46

well anet accomplishes that pretty well. It's pretty user friendly, although i wouldnt really take on the task of multiplayer by yourself regardless of what engine unless you have an experienced programmer working with you.
Posted By: Captain_Kiyaku

Re: Looking for a game engine that... - 02/09/10 21:13

You can achieve that with 3DGS without any problem (network-technical wise). Especially when it doesn't have to be as accurate as for a shooter game, you can handle way more users.

You could also use Torque, which is actually build on a FPS Multiplayer engine. But it is kinda tricky to build in new content (programming wise) if you have no experience with Torque. Dunno the current price though but i bet it will handle the multiplayer part the best.

Unity is free and you can use the multiplayer functions too but i never used them before so i actually have no idea what their limitations are, but probably easy to use too.

So maybe stick with your A7 com if you only need 8 players.