Moving at the speed of light

Posted By: NITRO777

Moving at the speed of light - 02/02/11 13:26

Is it true that if you move at the speed of light from earth in one direction for 12 hours and then come back to earth at the speed of light that you will have only aged 24 hours yet the earth is 1000 years older? Does anyone know how light speed travel would work? tongue

Its a serious question, I'm trying to imagine how theoretical light speed travel would work so I can check the reality of scifi books etc.
Posted By: WretchedSid

Re: Moving at the speed of light - 02/02/11 13:39

Yep its true. In real I'm a medieval king but thanks to my spaceship I'm currently a indie game developer.
Posted By: NITRO777

Re: Moving at the speed of light - 02/02/11 13:43

Thats hilarious. But doesn't traveling at light speed theoretically have some effect on time? Anyone have a clue or am I just asking the wrong forum
Posted By: Joozey

Re: Moving at the speed of light - 02/02/11 13:58

Some effect on time? Time is relative for everyone. Time is not one thing, there is not one timeline or so. So yes it affects time in that a moving entity progresses slower in time than one who stands still in respect to the moving entity.

But we all move with the rotation of the earth, rotation around the sun, our sun through the galaxy, and the galaxy through the universe with unimaginable speeds. The funny and mindboiling thing is that everything is relative. Whichever way you move (faster than our current speed, or "slower" when you move the other way) you always end up moving slower through time compared to your starting point.
Posted By: Joey

Re: Moving at the speed of light - 02/02/11 15:02

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_dilation