water shader (real-time reflections)

Posted By: 3run

water shader (real-time reflections) - 02/11/13 14:42

I wanted to ask, if there is a water shader around the forum? As I couldn't find anything myself.. The native one looks crap, with some strange reflection offsets.. I tried the older shade-c water and I loved it, but I got some troubles with it as well (some black lines, on the edges with level blocks and a black point, at the center of the water model, which becomes bigger on the distance). I need a translucent water shader with real-time reflections, and I would be really grateful if someone could point with a right link to it. I'm a shader noob, so no way for me to make it myself.

Re: water shader (real-time reflections) - 02/11/13 18:52

Ok.. So after I've spent the whole fucking day, trying to get some results with the native water shader...
I found out, that an old one, works pretty nice (there is an old one and new, if you'll check "mtlFX.c")..
As I've said, that I've faced offset problem (with new one), I couldn't fix it.. Here is how it looks like:

But I've decided to go with an old one (maybe it's slower, I don't really know), and it looks pretty nice..
Here is the screen:

The color of the water is adjustable (this is default color). I've decided to rip it out, and to upload it here:
Water Shader (OLD)
Thanks once again, this community is just freaking awesome.
Posted By: gri

Re: water shader (real-time reflections) - 02/12/13 09:17

hey thank you,

I realy like to see when guys gives their results for free.
Posted By: HeelX

Re: water shader (real-time reflections) - 02/12/13 09:37

Yeah, looks cool, thanks for sharing! But I am wondering about the ASM part in the shader, can you explain that?
Posted By: sivan

Re: water shader (real-time reflections) - 02/12/13 10:22