GTA: Streatham Hill

Posted By: Truth

GTA: Streatham Hill - 03/05/10 16:27

This is a project i have been working on for nearly two years, it is a Grand Theft Auto clone. I am very busy so i don't get usually more than 1 day a week to work on it. This is the first game i have created so i am just learning as i go. The level is made up entirely of blocks.

Problems im currently having is framerate, when looking east or west or at the edge of the map i get upto 25fps, but when i look south it goes down to 4fps, if you look at the picture of the map i have attached you will understand. I have an idea that it is the entities because i have hundreads; cars, people, birds and trees. is there anyway to stop them from being displayed or paused when the player is not close?

Anyway i have attached some pictures and a link to my youtube page. i want to release a demo by next month but i am terrible at code so if theres anyone who is good at C-script and intrested please let me know.

Thanks for looking

Youtube page: My videos

Posted By: Rei_Ayanami

Re: GTA: Streatham Hill - 03/05/10 16:34

very nice laugh

The models are a bit low poly for my taste ...

I especially like the people, but the hands(look at the girl as an example) are really horrible^^
Posted By: Tempelbauer

Re: GTA: Streatham Hill - 03/05/10 16:47

i would be careful using logos of companies or trademarks
i dont know if its allowed (especially the pizza-hut logo)
you should check this to avoid legal problems
even GTA has fictional companies like "the well stacked pizza co."

but good work laugh
may your city growing
Posted By: CrYzZeR

Re: GTA: Streatham Hill - 03/05/10 18:17

Wow, very good work!

The charakter`s animations are not so good. But Im sure you will fix this.
And Tempelbauer is right it can be very dangerous to use trademarks. I`ve seen Pizza Hut and MC Donalds better you change it. You can for example leant names in a funny way.

Keep up this good work! grin
Posted By: Pappenheimer