LODs and point animations

Posted By: 3run

LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 13:21

Is there any way to create LODs and keep already existing point animations??
Posted By: HeelX

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 14:44

What kind of LOD - pro edition procedural LOD or whatelse?

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 14:52

Are LODs only working with PRO version?? I have a lot of models, and for increasing performance, I want to use LODs, I've never used them before.
Posted By: Rei_Ayanami

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 15:48

With Gamestudio you can only generate LOD models with the pro edition. You can of course use LODs generated by other programs.

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 16:44

So, I have a model with point animations (for example), what would be the best way to make LODs for it? I don't have PRO edition, only commercial.
Posted By: sivan

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 18:36

I don't have too much experience in animated models, but mdl naming *_0/_1/_2/_3.mdl works well for lod in free edition too, and 3dsmax "optimize" as I remember keeps animation. (there's a checkbox for keeping material borders if you have more). but there are two other options for it in max, what I always forget... but have some notes somewhere...
in Milkshape reducing vertices results in loss of animation and uv mapping thus I never tested.
but if you prefer free tools, try MeshLab but as I know it does not handle animations: http://meshlab.sourceforge.net/

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 19:36

Thank you sivan. I don't have max, so I can't try it out.. But I own MilkShape and fragMOTION. I lose animations with MilkShape too.. Don't know if it's possible to archive what I need with fragMOTION. Didn't try meshlab, as I need to save animations. Explain more about naming models please. Thank you for your time guys.
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: LODs and point animations - 12/18/11 20:02

just an idea: