Web Sockets

Posted By: Feindbild

Web Sockets - 11/26/13 20:57

Would it be possible to communicate with an Acknex server via HTML5 Websockets? Maybe using the Anet plugin?
I have to admit I have no experience whatsoever in GStudio multiplayer coding, so I'd be glad to hear about any advice and information from you guys.
Posted By: Quad

Re: Web Sockets - 11/26/13 21:41

Anet plugin won't speak websockets. But i am pretty sure it can be done with a plugin.

Re: Web Sockets - 11/28/13 14:43

There are several C/C++ websockets libraries existing, but I have no idea how to integrate them into Acknex. I guess I'd need to create something called a "wrapper" since I can't just use the DLLs, right?

Is there a tutorial available on how to achieve what I want to do or at least something that puts me in the right direction?

Re: Web Sockets - 11/28/13 16:22

check out the sdk_plugin folder in yout Gstudio folder
Posted By: WretchedSid

Re: Web Sockets - 11/28/13 17:40

You can alternatively use LoadLibrary() and GetProcAddress() to load the library at runtime and get addresses out of it. Just include the right header and bind the correction functions and you are done.

Re: Web Sockets - 11/30/13 16:22

From what I gathered from the manual (thanks Sid for pointing me in the right direction!) I can use the Windows API directly from within Lite-C, right?
Does this mean I could use these protocols:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/hh437448(v=vs.85).aspx
just by including the right functions?

edit: disregard that, it seems this component is only available in Windows 8
Posted By: MasterQ32

Re: Web Sockets - 11/30/13 19:37

you could implement the websocket protocol with tcp communication and sockets.
a web socket is afaik just a socket connection that builds its connection via a http header.
Posted By: WretchedSid

Re: Web Sockets - 11/30/13 19:45

Originally Posted By: MasterQ32