FSAA toggle instruction

Posted By: Orange Brat

FSAA toggle instruction - 12/05/04 02:49

We used to have d3d_antialias(or whatever it was called), but it was removed with the promise of an alterate method sometime later. That was a long time ago, so I'd like to kick this idea back on the table again. I'd like to request an instruction that will toggle FSAA during runtime(so we can offer it in our options menus).

And before anyone says to simply turn it on in my graphics card tab, yes I know this can be done, but I want it to be able to be toggled and set(2x, 4x, etc) during the game like every other one I play. A lot of endusers aren't going to know how to do this from within Windows, but they'll surely understand an on/off toggle from within the game.
Posted By: Templar

Re: FSAA toggle instruction - 12/05/04 03:32

Hey Orange, stop reading my mind, will you? I was going to suggest exactly the same thing ...
Posted By: Homey

Re: FSAA toggle instruction - 12/05/04 04:03

Hiya,

DirectX 9 provides some commands for this, we just need access to them with C-Script.

Code:
typedef enum _D3DMULTISAMPLE_TYPE {
D3DMULTISAMPLE_NONE = 0,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_NONMASKABLE = 1,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_2_SAMPLES = 2,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_3_SAMPLES = 3,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_4_SAMPLES = 4,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_5_SAMPLES = 5,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_6_SAMPLES = 6,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_7_SAMPLES = 7,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_8_SAMPLES = 8,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_9_SAMPLES = 9,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_10_SAMPLES = 10,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_11_SAMPLES = 11,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_12_SAMPLES = 12,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_13_SAMPLES = 13,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_14_SAMPLES = 14,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_15_SAMPLES = 15,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_16_SAMPLES = 16,
D3DMULTISAMPLE_FORCE_DWORD = 0xffffffff
} D3DMULTISAMPLE_TYPE;



In addition to enabling full-scene multisampling at IDirect3DDevice9::Reset time,
there will be render states that turn various aspects on and off at fine-grained levels.

Multisampling is valid only on a swap chain that is being created or reset with the
D3DSWAPEFFECT_DISCARD swap effect.

The multisampling antialiasing value can be set with the parameters (or sub-parameters) in the following methods.

Applications that just use multisampling for antialiasing purposes only need to query for the number of non-maskable multiple-sample quality levels that the driver supports.

Can check what levels the card supports with:
IDirect3D9::CheckDeviceMultiSampleType.

Should be quite easy for Conitec to add.
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: FSAA toggle instruction - 12/05/04 07:00

Now that's hard for me to read all those upper case letters...
Posted By: William

Re: FSAA toggle instruction - 12/05/04 14:05

Please add this. I also dont believe everyone who plays games knows about it on their graphics card tab since most games offer the option ingame. Thanks.
Posted By: M3PHiSTOPH3L3S

Re: FSAA toggle instruction - 12/05/04 15:08

I also agree we need to be able to use antialiasing/filters again. I can't speak for everybody, but I'm sure there are alot more that do aswell. As said before, not many gamers access the graphics tab in the display panel and I, for one, leave my settings on "Application Controlled" because some games that I play look strange with filtering on, but I like to take advantage of filtering when I'm playing a game that doesn't have issues with filtering. It would be a pain to set your graphics settings in the control panel everytime you went from game to game. Is there any idea as to if this feature will be turned back on?

M3PHiSTO
Posted By: Orange Brat

Re: FSAA toggle instruction - 07/17/05 12:31

Provided version 6.4 is close to release and assuming this feature is "simple" to implement, I think it would be nice to finally see this one see the light of day. I know in a more recent thread, jcl made mention that an antialias technique would be implemented, in the future, but he didn't mention when or any other specifics.

Quote:


d3d_antialiasing haben wir herausgenommen, da es von DirectX nicht mehr unterstuetzt wird, und bei vielen 3D Karten negative Nebenwirkungen hat. Wir werden jedoch in einer kuenftigen Version eine Loesung zum Antialiasing implementieren.





Quote:


We removed d3d_antialiasing because it is no longer supported by DirectX and caused many negative side effects with a multitude of 3D cards. However, a solution will be implemented in the future version.




Posted By: Orange Brat

Re: Antialiasing instruction... - 05/21/07 20:24

This issue has come up again in another thread, and it has been well over two years since it was said it would be "implemented in the future version." Does Conitec have any idea when this feature will see the light of day? Personally, I think it would be nice to include it in the final A6 update given the desire from a lot of us for this standard feature (and I'm upgrading to A7, so I'm not suggesting that for personal reasons).
© 2024 lite-C Forums