Ally

Posted By: Dante101

Ally - 04/18/09 21:03

i need an ally in my game...how exactly(with detail) would i go about that, coding wise...
Posted By: Rasch

Re: Ally - 04/19/09 01:25

what is an ally?
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Ally - 04/19/09 08:03

to ally[en] = sich verbünden[de]
Posted By: Rasch

Re: Ally - 04/19/09 09:15

oO
Dann ist die Frage ein wenig komisch gestellt..

What do you want exactly?
Posted By: the_clown

Re: Ally - 04/19/09 12:01

He wants an AI bot that doesn't fight against the player but against the player's enemies. A friendly bot.

Well, I'm not really good at ally AI but I think you have to code an AI bot (look up the several tutorials in the AUM or somewhere else). Then, where you tell him to attack the player, just tell him to attack all entities who are not in his team. A little more detailed:
You have just one action, for both the ally and the enemy. In this ation, you have a decision making function. Normally, somewhere in this function you say "if player is in sight, attack him". Now you say him "if entity with skill x != my skill x in sight, attack it".
So you have a skill defined that stores the team and that you set to different values.
It's very hard to explain this in english, it's not my first language.
Maybe some of the more experienced coders that are good at AI coding can explain it better. (I'd know some but I don't want to push them ;))
Posted By: Blink

Re: Ally - 04/19/09 20:11

that actually sounds like it could work. i think i will give it a try. i never thought about something so simple as that concept.i guess including a type of function that would make the "ally" entity follow you until he had an enemy in his sights, and then afterwards, start following you again, would make for a pretty cool ally a.i. good luck, guys.

Re: Ally - 04/20/09 12:57